(And who now have there own ideas)

Dr. Maria Papanatsiou completed her PhD with Profs. Anna Amtmann and Mike Blatt, taking up post as a postdoctoral research associate at the beginning of 2015 with Prof. John Christie (Glasgow).

Christin Alderhold ne Sturm (research technician 2013-2014) now lives in Glasgow with her partner and beautiful newborn son.

Dr. Annegret Honsbein (University Postgraduate Student, part-time, 2005-2010) completed work at Glasgow and moved in 2014 to a postdoctoral research fellowship in synthetic biology at the University of Edinburgh.

Dr Sergei Sokolovski (BBSRC and Leverhulme Postdoctoral Associate, 2000-2007) worked in Physics and Engineering at the University of Dundee and now holds a senior research fellowship in optoelectronics at the University of Aston in Birmingham.

Dr. Christopher Grefen (BBSRC Postdoctoral Fellow, 2008-2013) moved in 2013 to Tuebingen, Germany, to take up a prestigious Emmy Noether Fellowship and start his own research group.

Dr Fiona Armstrong (Gatsby Foundation Student, 1991-5) works as a senior coordinator for the UK Research Councils.

Mr. Robert Bayne (ASPB Undergraduate Research Fellow, 2012) is pursuing a career in medical research.

Dr Matthias Bernstein (DFG Postdoctoral Fellow, 1991-2) now works in computing and systems development outside Martinsried, Germany.

Dr Jane Brearley (SERC-CASE Student, 1994-7) is a public relations and communications consultant in London servicing science and medicine.

Dr Adrian Butt (AFRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1992-5) moved to a UK government advisory post and now works as the ACRE Secretariat for DEFRA in London.

Dr Prisca Campanoni (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2005-2007) now works in research for Philip Morris International in Neuchatel, Switzerland.

Dr. Zhonghua Chen (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2008-2011) left in 2011 to take up a permanent lectureship at the University of Western Sydney, Australia.

Dr Gian-Pietro DiSanSebastiano (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1999-2001) left to take up a lectureship in cell biology, which he currently holds at the University of Lecce, Italy.

Ms. Karen Deachon (BBSRC-funded Ph.D. student, 2004-2007) left science and moved to Australia with partner.

Dr. Cornelia Eisenach (University and Plant Bioscience Postgraduate Student, 2008-2011; BBSRC-funded Postdoctoral Associate, 2011-12) now holds a Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Zurich, Switzerland.

Dr Charlie Garcia-Mata (Antochas Postgraduate Student, 2002-2003 and BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2006-2008) now holds a permanent research post at the University of Mar del Plata, Argentina.

Dr Robert Gay (BBSRC Student, 1999-2004) left science to study philosophy and theology at the University of Oxford. He took up orders with the Dominicans in 2008.

Dr Danny Geelen (HFSP and EU Research Associate, 1997-9) moved to the University of Ghent, Belgium and now holds a permanent post at the VIB.

Dr. Vijay Gutla (BBSRC-funded Research Associate, 2011-2012) returned to India where he is a senior executive in a start-up biotech company.

Dr. Bernadette Gehl (Leverhulme-funded Ph.D. student, 2005-2008) took up a postdoctoral research post at Rice University (USA) and moved to a senior postdoctoral position at Oxford University in the Plant Sciences Department in 2011.

Dr Alexander Grabov (BBSRC Senior Research Associate, 1994-8) was a Senior Lecturer in Plant Physiology at Imperial College until 2011. He retired and now runs a business in Chamonix, France.

Dr David Hamilton (Gatsby Foundation Student, 1996-9) left science for a career in computing. He currently works in Edinburgh.

Dr Ulrike Homann (AFRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1994) moved to a senior research fellowship at the University of Darmstadt and now holds a senior management post at the University.

Dr Marcel A.K. Jansen (SERC Postdoctoral Associate, 1993-5) left on a Dutch Royal Society Fellowship and now holds a Lectureship in Plant Ecophysiology at the University of Cork.

Dr Ingela Johansson (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2001-5) returned to Sweden and is working in the health services.

Dr Joanna Kargul (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1998-2000) is now a professor at the University of Warsaw.

Dr Barbara Köhler (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1999-2000) continued in research at the University of Potsdam and moved to Munich with her partner in 2009.

Dr Barbara Leyman (Gatsby Foundation Student, 1994-7 and BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1997-2000) moved to a research post at the University of Leuven, Belgium, and is now a senior consultant and IPR coordinator in the ‘Plant Biotech Valley’ of Ghent.

Dr Laurence Maurousset (AFRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1991-2) returned to Poitiers where she now holds a CNRS post at the University.

Prof. Andrew A. Meharg FRSE (AFRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1992-3) continues to pursue his interests in heavy metal toxicity in plants. He held the Professorship of Biogeochemistry at  the University of Aberdeen and moved to the University of Belfast in 2013.

Dr Gerhard Obermeyer (DFG Postdoctoral Fellow, 1991-2) moved to Salzburg where he Habilitated and now holds a Professorship at the University of Salzburg.

Dr Manuel Paneque (Bower and BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2002-2005) moved to Chile where he now holds a Professorship at the University of Chile.

Dr Réjane Pratelli (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2001-4) moved to Stanford University and, in 2009, to Virginia with her partner.

Dr F. Javier Quintero (HFSP and ESFP Research Fellow, 1996-8) holds a permanent research post at the University of Seville.

Dr M. Rob. G. Roelfsema (EU Postdoctoral Associate, 1997-8) continues in research at the University of Wurzburg.

Dr Sergei Sokolovski (BBSRC and Leverhulme Postdoctoral Associate, 2000-2007) moved to research in Physics and Engineering at the University of Dundee.

Dr Jens-Uwe Sutter (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 2000-2006) continues research in physics and material sciences at Strathclyde University, Glasgow.

Mr Matthew Tyrrell (University Postgraduate Student, 2001-2005) left science and now lives in Birmingham.

Dr Paola Vergani (BBSRC Postdoctoral Associate, 1995-9) moved to the Rockefeller University to work on CFTR regulation and is now a Lecturer at University College, London.